Guidelines for Authors

The journal “Nachrichten des Entomologischen Vereins Apollo” (in short NEVA), Frankfurt am Main, is a journal for publication of scientific papers on entomology. It covers research articles, rearing and expedition reports and other scientific matters, both from amateurs and professionals. Besides the research contents, NEVA concentrates on high-quality colour printing to illustrate the subjects.

Exclusiveness, Copyright

Manuscripts submitted for publication in NEVA may not be published or submitted for publication in similar form and content elsewhere. The copyright of text and illustrations in the printed version will be transferred to Entomologischer Verein Apollo e.V., if not negotiated differently (and in writing) before print. The copyright of the figures remains with the creator.

Editor's address

Dr. Wolfgang A. Nässig
Entomologie II, Senckenberg
Senckenberganlage 25
D-60325 Frankfurt am Main
Germany
Email: redaktion@apollo-frankfurt.de

Language, contents

Manuscripts can be written in German or English; abstracts may also be in other languages. Contributions may deal with all aspects of entomology and rearing and entomological travel reports. All manuscripts submitted will be reviewed by the editorial board. An additional review process through external — usually anonymous — specialists will usually also be employed. The editorial board decides about acceptance with or without revision.

Size, format and submittance

  1. Scientific contributions usually have 2 or more printed pages (ca. 4 manuscript pages). Entomological notes and other small contributions usually have between ½ and 2 printed pages.

  2. Manuscripts are to be submitted as electronic file.

  3. Files may be submitted on CD /DVD-ROM, USB flash drive, memory card or by email attachment in equivalent format. Text files may be in all formats which can be opened or converted by MS WinWord; graphics and picture files may be in all formats which can be opened by Adobe Photoshop (PSD, JPG, TIF, BMP etc.).

  4. The only allowed additional typographic format is Italics (for scientific species and genus names). All other formats like, e.g., bold or CAPITALS or s p a c i n g must not be used.

  5. The gender symbols ♂ or ♀ are either written in words or may be coded as follows:

    • ♂: male, as UNICODE 2642, or “{” or “#m”

    • ♀: female, as UNICODE 2640, or “}” or “#w”

Illustrations

  1. All illustrations should be submitted in digital form; provided that the quality is adequate for print and compatible to the software used at our end (see above).

  2. All legends are to be placed at the end of the text file, not combined with the pictures.

  3. All illustration files must be delivered as separate picture files, not embedded into the text file. Mounted MS-PowerPoint or PDF files cannot be accepted.

  4. We use a printing format of 18 cm x 26 cm (width x height) for a full page; single column width is 8.75 cm. Minimum resolution for colour or greyscale pictures is 305 dpi (120 pixel/cm) and for line drawings 1200 dpi scaled to the final printing size. Plates in landcape format will be reduced to maximum 18 cm width and printed upright. Please submit only single picture files (no mounted plates) in sufficient resolution and quality for these requirements.

  5. Analog pictures like color prints or slides can be digitised by our print shop. The author must pay these costs.

Descriptions of new taxa

For all taxonomic work the actual rules of the ICZN in force must be obeyed. Holotypes are to be deposited in a public museum collection.

References

All literature cited in the text is to be listed in a references section at the end of the publication in front of the legends. The form of the citations has to follow this scheme (especially the punctuation):

Firstauthor, I. I., & Secondauthor, I. I. (year): Full title of the publication. — Full name of journal, publisher locality, volume: firstpage–lastpage.

All publications listed in the references section must also be cited within the text in the form (Firstauthor & Secondauthor year).

Separates

Authors receive a free PDF copy of their contribution. This PDF version may be used by the authors only for private exchange with colleagues and for sending it on request. Free online-access to this file (e.g., on a homepage) is not allowed without explicite written permission by the editor. Commercial selling is prohibited. Printed separates are possible on demand, the costs therefore must be requested by the author before printing.

FAQs

The present guidelines are obligatorily valid for all authors since August 2014 and must be the basis for all manuscript submissions. This text is updated without notice as often as required. Therefore, please check this page every time before you submit a manuscript.

 
Page Top

Autorenrichtlinien der NEVA

Die „Nachrichten des Entomologischen Vereins Apollo” (kurz NEVA), Frankfurt am Main, ist eine wissenschafliche Zeitschrift für Themen aus allen Bereichen der Entomologie. Sie umfasst Forschungsergebnisse, Zucht- und Reiseberichte sowohl von Wissenschaftlern als auch von Amateuren. Neben den wissenschaftlichen Inhalten wird auch besonderen Wert auf hohe Druckqualität gelegt.

Exklusivität, Copyright

Manuskripte, die zur Publikation in den NEVA eingereicht werden, dürfen nicht in ähnlicher Form und Inhalt anderer Stelle publiziert oder zur Publikation eingereicht worden sein. Das Copyright von Text und Abbildungen in der gedruckten Fassung geht nach der Publikation auf den Entomologischen Verein Apollo e.V. über, sofern nicht vor Drucklegung schriftlich anders vereinbart. Das Urheberrecht der Abbildungen bleibt davon unberührt.

Redaktionsadresse, Schriftleitung

Dr. Wolfgang A. Nässig
Entomologie II, Senckenberg
Senckenberganlage 25
D-60325 Frankfurt am Main
E-Mail: redaktion@apollo-frankfurt.de

Sprache, Inhalt

Sprache von Originalarbeiten ist Deutsch oder Englisch; Zusammenfassungen können auch in anderen Sprachen abgedruckt werden. Es können wissenschaftliche Beiträge aus allen Bereichen der Entomologie, Zucht- und Reiseberichte eingereicht werden. Alle eingereichten Manuskripte werden von der Redaktion auf Form- und inhaltliche Fehler geprüft. Eine zusätzliche Begutachtung durch externe — in der Regel anonyme — Gutachter behält sich die Redaktion ausdrücklich vor. Über die Annahme von Manuskripten und eventuelle Änderungsauflagen entscheidet die Redaktion.

Umfang, Format

  1. Originalarbeiten sollen mindestens 2 Druckseiten (ca. 4 Manuskriptseiten) umfassen. Entomologische Notizen und sonstige kleine Beiträge sind ½ bis 2 Druckseiten lang.

  2. Die Manuskripte sind als Datei einzureichen.

  3. Mögliche Datenträger sind CD/DVD-ROMs, USB-Sticks, Speicherkarten oder E-Mail-Anhänge. Textdateien können alle Formate sein, die von MS WinWord geöffnet oder konvertiert werden können; Grafik- und Bilddateien alle Formate, die von Adobe Photoshop geöffnet werden können (PSD, JPG, TIF, BMP etc.).

  4. Als einzige zusätzliche Textformatierung ist kursiv (nur für wissenschaftliche Gattungs- und Artnamen) zulässig. Alle anderen Formatierungen wie zum Beispiel Fettdruck, VERSALIEN oder S p e r r s c h r i f t dürfen nicht verwendet werden!

  5. Die Genuszeichen ♂ oder ♀ werden entweder ausgeschrieben oder wie folgt kodiert:

    • ♂: Männchen: als UNICODE 2642, oder "{" oder "#m"

    • ♀: Weibchen: als UNICODE 2640, oder "}" oder "#w"

Abbildungen

  1. Alle Abbildungen sollten in digitaler Form und in Druckqualität geliefert werden, kompatibel zur den verwendeten Programmen (siehe oben).

  2. Alle Abbildungslegenden sind separat, also nicht kombiniert mit Bildern, an das Textende zu stellen.

  3. Alle Bilder sind als Einzelbilder/-dateien einzureichen. Montierte Abbildungen im MS-Powerpoint- oder PDF-Format können nicht akzeptiert werden.

  4. Der Satzspiegel ist 18 cm x 26 cm (Breite x Höhe), die Spaltenbreite 8,75 cm. Abbildungen im Querformat werden auf maximal 18 cm Breite skaliert und in das Hochformat des Satzspiegels montiert. Berechnet auf die Druckgröße sollten Farb- oder Graustufenbilder eine Auflösung von mindestens 120 pixel/cm (305 dpi) und Strichzeichnungen eine Auflösung von 1200 dpi haben.

  5. Analoge Bilder wie Papierabzüge oder Dias können von der Druckerei digitalisiert werden. Die Kosten hierfür trägt der Autor.

Neubeschreibungen

Für taxonomische Arbeiten gelten die jeweils aktuellen Nomenklaturregeln der ICZN. Holotypen sind in einer öffentlichen Museumssammlung zu deponieren.

Literaturzitate

Alle im Text zitierten Arbeiten sind in einem Literaturverzeichnis am Ende der Arbeit aufzunehmen. Die Zitierform (insbesondere die Interpunktion) folgt dem Schema:

Erstautor, I. I., & Koautor, I. I. (Jahr): Vollständiger Titel der Arbeit. — Zeitschrift, Ort, Jahrgang: SeiteAnfang–SeiteEnde.

Alle im Literaturverzeichnis aufgeführten Titel müssen auch im Text nach dem Muster „(Erstautor & Koautor Jahr)” zitiert worden sein.

Separata („Sonderdrucke”)

Jeder Autor von wissenschaftlichen Beiträgen in den NEVA erhält einen PDF-File seiner Arbeit. Dieser PDF-File ist nur für den privaten Austausch mit Fachkollegen oder den Einzelversand auf ausdrückliche Anfrage hin vorgesehen. Er darf ohne ausdrückliche schriftliche Genehmigung der Herausgeber nicht frei zugänglich ins Internet eingestellt werden. Der Verkauf ist verboten. Gedruckte Separata können bestellt werden, die Kosten hierfür sollte der Autor vor der Drucklegung anfragen.

„FAQs”

Die vorliegenden Autorenrichtlinien sind verbindlich gültig für alle Autoren seit August 2014. Da diese Richtlinien immer wieder aktuell überarbeitet werden, sollte man sich stets vor dem Einreichen eines Manuskriptes neu informieren.

 
Page Top